Hide Advertisment

The 2020 Atlantic hurricane season is the most intense and powerful since 1950

طقس العرب GO 2020-09-22 2020-09-22T11:27:31Z
وداد السعودي
وداد السعودي
محرر أخبار جوية- قسم التواصل الاجتماعي
The 2020 Atlantic hurricane season is the most intense and powerful since 1950

Weather of Arabia - When Tropical Storm "Wilfred" formed on September 18 in the Atlantic Ocean, the National Hurricane Center exhausted the list of storm names for the second time since the naming of hurricanes began in 1950. Within hours, two more "alpha and beta" storms formed.

 

Even more surprising, this year's 23rd Tropical Storm "Beta" formed about a month earlier than in 2005, the only other year to record so many so-called storms.

 

The Atlantic hurricane season for 2020 is not over yet. With the formation of new storms, forecasters have switched from the alphabetical list of people's names to the letters of the Greek alphabet, in a case similar to the 2005 season, which witnessed six storms of Greek letters, ending with "zeta".

 

So why is the Atlantic Ocean so active this year? "Meteorologists have been following some important differences, including the many tropical storms that formed near the American coast," says the author of the article, assistant professor of meteorology at Mississippi State University, author Kimberly Wood.

 

What is the reason for the large number of tropical cyclones in the Atlantic Ocean?

When there is turbulence - a large mass of convective clouds or thunderstorms - over the Atlantic Ocean, some weather conditions will help it grow into a tropical cyclone.

 

Warm water and plenty of moisture help the turbulence gain strength. Besides slow shear winds, which means that wind speeds and directions do not change much as they rise in the atmosphere, and this is important because these winds can prevent convection from growing. The instability enables air parcels to rise higher and continue to create thunderstorms.

 

This year, sea surface temperatures have been above average across much of the Atlantic and shear winds have been below average. This means that it was more suitable than usual for tropical cyclones.

 

La Niña may also have something to do with it (La Niña is the opposite of El Niño - it occurs when sea surface temperatures in the eastern and central Pacific are below average). This cooling is affecting weather patterns across the United States and elsewhere, including weakening shear winds in the Atlantic basin.

 

And NOAA decided in early September that we were entering the La Niña climate pattern. This pattern has been building up for weeks, so these common conditions could have contributed to the Atlantic Ocean's suitability for tropical cyclones this year.

 

During the 2020 hurricane season ... How did the names of American hurricanes get implemented?

 

An unusual bend off the American coast

Four hurricanes struck the US coast this year - Hanna, Isaias, Laura and Sally, which is more than usual at this point in the hurricane season. But we also observed several short-lived tropical storms that had less impact.

 

When a tropical cyclone develops turbulence forming over Africa, it has plenty of ocean in front of it with room to organize and gain strength. But this year, several storms have formed farther north, closer to the American coast.

 

Most of these hurricanes came from disturbances that were not very promising - until they moved over the Gulf Stream . It is a large ocean current that carries warm water from the Gulf of Mexico to the upper east coast and the North Atlantic Ocean.

 

Tropical cyclones typically need sea surface temperatures of more than 80 degrees Fahrenheit (26.6 Celsius) to form, and warm waters along the Gulf Stream can help disrupt tropical cyclones.

 

Since these tropical storms were already too far to the north, they did not have much time to gain strength. Meteorologists have yet to study why so many storms form this way this season, but it is likely due to the Atlantic waters warmer than usual and the location of the Gulf Stream.

 

Hurricane season 2020 is a record-breaking season

The 2005 season saw 28 named storms form. The list of names for tropical cyclones in the Atlantic skips letters that are difficult to find easy to distinguish names, such as Q and Z , and then move to the Greek alphabet.

 

During the 2020 season, the numbers were also broken, as the American alphabet was exhausted to move to the Greek alphabet, so can the Greek names run out before the end of the hurricane season on November 30?

 

Translation: Wedad Saudi

Source: theconversation.com

This article was written originally in Arabic and is translated using a 3rd party automated service. ArabiaWeather is not responsible for any grammatical errors whatsoever.

Related News

Live broadcast || A press conference for the head of the Suez Canal Authority to announce the success of the ship's float

Live broadcast || A press conference for the head of the Suez Canal Authority to announce the success of the ship's float

Suez Canal Authority: Resumption of navigation in the canal at 8 pm local time

Suez Canal Authority: Resumption of navigation in the canal at 8 pm local time

Arab weather - special weather forecast - Saturday 6-12-2021

Arab weather - special weather forecast - Saturday 6-12-2021

Arab weather - special weather forecast - Saturday 6-12-2021

Arab weather - special weather forecast - Saturday 6-12-2021

أخفاء الاعلان
2020-09-22T11:27:31Z

موسم أعاصير المحيط الأطلسي لعام 2020 الأشد والأقوى منذ عام 1950

هل تود حذف الإعلانات عن الموقع والتطبيق
الآن انضم الى الباقة المميزة واستمتع بمزايا عديدة

الباقة المميزة

طقس العرب- عندما تشكلت العاصفة الاستوائية "ويلفريد" في 18 سبتمبر/ أيلول الجاري في لمحيط الأطلسي،  استنفد المركز الوطني للأعاصير قائمة أسماء العواصف للمرة الثانية منذ بدء تسمية  الأعاصيرعام 1950. وفي غضون ساعات، تشكلت عاصفتان أخريان "ألفا وبيتا".

 

والأكثر إثارة للدهشة هو تشكل العاصفة الاستوائية الثالثة والعشرين لهذا العام "بيتا " بوقت أبكر بنحو شهر  من عام 2005 ، العام الآخر الوحيد الذي سجل العديد من العواصف المسماة.

 

موسم أعاصير المحيط الأطلسي لعام 2020 لم ينته بعد،  فمع تشكل العواصف الجديدة ، تحول المتنبئون من القائمة الأبجدية لأسماء الأشخاص إلى أحرف الأبجدية اليونانية، في حالة مشابهة لموسم 2005  الذي شهد ستة عواصف من الحروف اليونانية ، ينتهي بـ "زيتا".

 

إذن ، ما سبب نشاط المحيط الأطلسي هذا العام؟ تقول كاتبة المقال، الأستاذ المساعد للأرصاد الجوية بجامعة ولاية مسيسيبي، الكاتبة كيمبرلي وود "كان علماء الأرصاد الجوية يتابعون بعض الاختلافات المهمة،  بما في ذلك العديد من العواصف الاستوائية التي تشكلت بالقرب من الساحل الأمريكي".

 

ما سبب كثرة الأعاصير المدارية في المحيط الأطلسي؟

عندما يوجد اضطراب - كتلة كبيرة من السحب الحملية أو العواصف الرعدية - فوق المحيط الأطلسي ، فإن بعض الظروف الجوية ستساعده على النمو إلى إعصار مداري.

 

حيث يساعد الماء الدافئ والكثير من الرطوبة على اكتساب الاضطرابات القوة. الى جانب بطئ رياح القص، مما يعني أن سرعة الرياح واتجاهاتها لا تتغير كثيرًا كلما ارتفعت في الغلاف الجوي، وهذا مهم لأن هذه الرياح يمكن أن تمنع الحمل الحراري من النمو. ويؤدي عدم الاستقرار إلى تمكين طرود الهواء من الارتفاع إلى أعلى والاستمرار في تكوين عواصف رعدية.

 

هذا العام ، كانت درجات حرارة سطح البحر أعلى من المتوسط ​​عبر جزء كبير من المحيط الأطلسي وكان رياح القص أقل من المتوسط. وهذا يعني أنه كان أكثر ملاءمة من المعتاد لتكوين الأعاصير المدارية.

 

ربما يكون لظاهرة النينيا أيضًا علاقة بهاا (ظاهرة النينيا هي عكس ظاهرة النينيو - تحدث عندما تكون درجات حرارة سطح البحر في شرق ووسط المحيط الهادئ أقل من المتوسط). يؤثر هذا التبريد على أنماط الطقس في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وأماكن أخرى ، بما في ذلك إضعاف رياح القص في حوض المحيط الأطلسي.

 

وقرر الإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجوي NOAA في أوائل سبتمبر/ أيلول الجاري أننا دخلنا في نمط مناخ La Niña. كان هذا النمط يتراكم منذ أسابيع ، لذلك كان من الممكن أن تكون هذه الظروف الشائعة قد ساهمت في مدى ملاءمة المحيط الأطلسي للأعاصير المدارية هذا العام.

 

خلال موسم أعاصير 2020.. كيف نفذت أسماء الأعاصير الأميركية؟

 

منعطف غير عادي قبالة الساحل الأمريكي

ضربت أربعة أعاصير الساحل الأمريكي هذا العام - حنا وإساياس ولورا وسالي ، وهو أكثر من المعتاد في هذه المرحلة من موسم الأعاصير. لكننا لاحظنا أيضًا العديد من العواصف الاستوائية قصيرة العمر التي كان لها تأثير أقل.

 

عندما يتطور الإعصار المداري من اضطراب يتشكل فوق إفريقيا ، فإنه أمامه الكثير من المحيط مع مساحة للتنظيم واكتساب القوة. لكن هذا العام ، تشكلت العديد من العواصف في أقصى الشمال، أقرب إلى الساحل الأمريكي.

 

جاء معظم هذه الاعاصير من الاضطرابات التي لم تكن واعدة للغاية - حتى انتقلت فوق تيار الخليج Gulf Stream. وهو تيار محيطي كبير يحمل الماء الدافئ من خليج المكسيك، حتى أعلى الساحل الشرقي وشمال المحيط الأطلسي.

 

تحتاج الأعاصير المدارية عادةً إلى درجات حرارة سطح البحر تزيد عن 80 درجة فهرنهايت (26.6 مئوية) لتتشكل ، ويمكن أن تساعد المياه الدافئة على طول تيار الخليج في حدوث الاضطرابات في الأعاصير المدارية.

 

نظرًا لأن هذه العواصف الاستوائية كانت بالفعل بعيدة جدًا عن الشمال ، لم يكن لديها الكثير من الوقت لاكتساب القوة. لم يدرس خبراء الأرصاد الجوية بعد سبب تكوّن العديد من العواصف بهذه الطريقة هذا الموسم ، ولكن من المحتمل أن يكون ذلك بسبب مياه المحيط الأطلسي الأكثر دفئًا من المعتاد وموقع تيار الخليج.

 

موسم أعاصير 2020 موسم تحطيم الارقام

شهد  موسم 2005 تشكل 28 عاصفة مسماة. تخطت  خلالها قائمة أسماء الأعاصير المدارية في المحيط الأطلسي الحروف التي يصعب العثور على أسماء يسهل تمييزها ، مثل Q و Z ، ثم ليتم الانتقال إلى الأبجدية اليونانية.

 

وخلال موسم 2020 تم تحطيم الارقام  ايضًا حيث استنفذت الابجدية الامريكية للاسماء ليتم الانتقال الى الابجدية اليونانية، فهل يمكن أن تنفد الاسماء  اليونانية قبل انتهاء موسم الأعاصير في 30 نوفمبر/ المقبل ؟

 

ترجمة: وداد السعودي 

المصدر: theconversation.com

هل تود حذف الإعلانات عن الموقع والتطبيق
الآن انضم الى الباقة المميزة واستمتع بمزايا عديدة

الباقة المميزة
تطبيق طقس العرب
play storeapp store