Hide Advertisment

Severe frosts hit France, as farmers light fires to mitigate damage

طقس العرب GO 2021-04-12 2021-04-12T12:59:34Z
رنا حسن
رنا حسن
محرر أخبار - قسم التواصل الاجتماعي
Severe frosts hit France, as farmers light fires to mitigate damage

Arab Weather - French farmers began to inspect their farms and calculate their losses due to the worst frost wave that has passed in the region in decades, as several regions in France were affected by a significant drop in temperatures and stability in the air, which led to the formation of frost over several nights during the past week, and this caused damage Large crops of the vineyards for which the country is famous.

 

Despite the measures taken by farmers to protect their crops, the buds of the vineyards are sensitive to a drop in temperatures, and experts estimate that the damage caused by the drop in temperatures, which reached -6 ° C, may be the worst in decades, in part because the frost is Unusually warm weather followed the previous week .

Jerome Desby, Secretary General of the FNSEA Farmers Union in the Hérault region, said that frost is a recurring phenomenon in the past, as the region was exposed to severe frosts in 1991, 1997, 2003, but this wave exceeded in intensity previous times, and experts expect that the grape crop will be smaller during The past 40 years, with losses ranging between 80-90% compared to normal.

In addition to vineyards, farmers of kiwi, apricots, apples and other fruits have been hit hard, along with those of other crops such as beets and rapeseed.

 

Measures of farmers in France to resist frost

1. Light a fire: In an effort to avoid frost damage in past nights, farmers across the country lit thousands of small torches and candles near vineyards and fruit trees. These large paraffin candles release enough heat to move the air and prevent frost formation.

The regional air quality watchdog has issued a warning about fine particulate pollution caused by the fires in the southeast region that includes the city of Lyon where a layer of smog was seen covering the area on Thursday.

2. Stir the air: The use of fans and wind machines helps keep the air moving to prevent frost.

Some farm owners rent helicopters to try to move the air and prevent frost formation.

3. Water sprinklers: Sprinklers help in keeping the temperature above freezing point.

The French government has declared an "agricultural disaster", meaning that it will start providing financial support to farmers, and has called on banks and insurance companies to join these efforts. Hundreds of thousands of hectares of farmland have been damaged, and many of them are not insured against the effects of frosts due to the high coverage cost.

 

This article was written originally in Arabic and is translated using a 3rd party automated service. ArabiaWeather is not responsible for any grammatical errors whatsoever.

Related News

watched The passage of the Chinese missile over the Sultanate of Oman and its fall in the Indian Ocean

watched The passage of the Chinese missile over the Sultanate of Oman and its fall in the Indian Ocean

Latest updates regarding the fall of the Chinese missile debris

Latest updates regarding the fall of the Chinese missile debris

Prospective orbital activity in the Arabian Sea

Prospective orbital activity in the Arabian Sea

Winter season 2020/2021 in brief

Winter season 2020/2021 in brief

أخفاء الاعلان

موجة صقيع شديدة تتعرض لها فرنسا والمزارعون يشعلون النيران للتخفيف من الأضرار

طقس العرب GO 2021-04-12 2021-04-12T12:59:34Z
رنا حسن
رنا حسن
محرر أخبار - قسم التواصل الاجتماعي
موجة صقيع شديدة تتعرض لها فرنسا والمزارعون يشعلون النيران للتخفيف من الأضرار

طقس العرب - بدأ المزارعون الفرنسيون بتفقد مزارعهم وحساب خسائرهم جراء أسوأ موجة صقيع تمر على المنطقة منذ عقود، حيث تأثرت عدة مناطق في فرنسا بانخفاض كبير في درجات الحرارة واستقرار في الأجواء مما أدى إلى تشكل الصقيع على مدار عدة ليالٍ خلال الاسبوع الماضي، وهذا ألحق أضراراً كبيرة بمحاصيل كروم العنب التي تشتهر بها البلاد.

 

رغم الإجراءات التي اتخذها المزارعون لحماية مزروعاتهم، إلا أن براعم كروم العنب حساسة للانخفاض في درجات الحرارة، ويقدر الخبراء أن الضرر الناجم عن الانخفاض في درجات حرارة، والذي وصل إلى -6 درجة مئوية، قد يكون الأسوأ منذ عقود ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى أن الصقيع أعقب طقسًا دافئًا بشكل غير معتاد الأسبوع السابق.

قال جيروم ديسبي ، الأمين العام لاتحاد المزارعين FNSEA في منطقة هيرولت: أن الصقيع ظاهرة تكررت في السابق، حيث تعرضت المنطقة لموجات صقيع شديدة في الأعوام 1991 ، 1997 ، 2003 ولكن هذه الموجة تجاوزت في شدتها المرات السابقة، ويتوقع الخبراء أن يكون محصول العنب الأصغر خلال الأربعين عامًا الماضية، مع خسائر تتراوح بين 80-90٪ مقارنة بالمعدل الطبيعي. 

بالإضافة إلى كروم العنب، تضرر مزارعو الكيوي والمشمش والتفاح وغيرها من الفاكهة بشدة إلى جانب مزارعي محاصيل أخرى مثل البنجر وبذور اللفت.

 

اجراءات المزارعين في فرنسا لمقاومة الصقيع 

1. اشعال النار: في محاولة لتجنب أضرار الصقيع في الليالي الماضية، أشعل المزارعون في جميع أنحاء البلاد الآلاف من الشعلات الصغيرة والشموع بالقرب من كروم العنب وأشجار الفاكهة، حيث تطلق شموع البارافين الكبيرة هذه حرارة كافية لتحريك الهواء ومنع تكوين الصقيع.

وقد أصدرت هيئة مراقبة جودة الهواء الإقليمية تحذيرًا بشأن تلوث الجسيمات الدقيقة الناجم عن الحرائق في المنطقة الجنوبية الشرقية التي تشمل مدينة ليون حيث شوهدت طبقة من الضباب الدخاني تغطي المنطقة يوم الخميس.

2. تحريك الهواء: يساعد استخدام المراوح وآلات الرياح في الحفاظ على حركة الهواء لمنع الصقيع.

ويقوم بعض أصحاب المزارع باستأجر طائرات هليكوبتر لمحاولة لتحريك الهواء ومنع تشكل الصقيع.

3. رشاشات الماء: تساعد رشاشات الماء في الحفاظ على درجة الحرارة أعلى من درجة التجمد.

هذا وقد أعلنت الحكومة  الفرنسية "كارثة زراعية"، بمعنى أنها ستبدأ في تقديم الدعم المالي للمزارعين ، ودعت البنوك وشركات التأمين للانضمام إلى هذه الجهود. حيث تضررت مئات الآلاف من الهكتارات من الأراضي الزراعية، والعديد منها غير خاضع للتأمين ضد آثار الصقيع بسبب تكلفة التغطية العالية.

 

أخبار ذات صلة

الهند المنكوبة بأزمة كورونا تتعرض لإعصار يضرب بقوة الساحل الغربي للبلاد

الهند المنكوبة بأزمة كورونا تتعرض لإعصار يضرب بقوة الساحل الغربي للبلاد

الأردن | درجات الحرارة حول إلى أعلى من مُعدلاتها الجمعة واستمرار الاجواء الربيعية المشمسة

الأردن | درجات الحرارة حول إلى أعلى من مُعدلاتها الجمعة واستمرار الاجواء الربيعية المشمسة

نشاط مداري مرتقب في بحر العرب

نشاط مداري مرتقب في بحر العرب

موسم شتاء 2020/2021 في سطور

موسم شتاء 2020/2021 في سطور